Fortinet black logo

Handbook

Configuration backup and restore

6.0.0
Copy Link
Copy Doc ID 4afb0436-a998-11e9-81a4-00505692583a:217176
Download PDF

You can backup and restore the configuration of a cluster in the same way as backing up and restoring a standalone FortiGate unit. Backing up the cluster from the primary unit GUI or CLI saves a single configuration file for the cluster. If you restore this configuration file, the configuration of all cluster units is restored. The restore process keeps configuration settings of individual cluster units that are not synchronized unchanged but resets all other configuration setting to those in the restored configuration file.

note icon When restoring the configuration of a cluster, all cluster units reboot to install the new configuration. This may result in a brief traffic interruption as all cluster units may restart at the same time.

Restoring settings that are not synchronized

The FGCP does not synchronize some FortiOS configuration settings. For details about settings that are not synchronized, see Synchronizing the configuration. If you need to restore the configuration of the cluster including the configuration settings that are not synchronized, you should first restore the configuration of the primary FortiGate and then restore the configuration of the other cluster units. Alternatively you could log into each FortiGate in the cluster and manually add the configuration settings that were not restored.

You can backup and restore the configuration of a cluster in the same way as backing up and restoring a standalone FortiGate unit. Backing up the cluster from the primary unit GUI or CLI saves a single configuration file for the cluster. If you restore this configuration file, the configuration of all cluster units is restored. The restore process keeps configuration settings of individual cluster units that are not synchronized unchanged but resets all other configuration setting to those in the restored configuration file.

note icon When restoring the configuration of a cluster, all cluster units reboot to install the new configuration. This may result in a brief traffic interruption as all cluster units may restart at the same time.

Restoring settings that are not synchronized

The FGCP does not synchronize some FortiOS configuration settings. For details about settings that are not synchronized, see Synchronizing the configuration. If you need to restore the configuration of the cluster including the configuration settings that are not synchronized, you should first restore the configuration of the primary FortiGate and then restore the configuration of the other cluster units. Alternatively you could log into each FortiGate in the cluster and manually add the configuration settings that were not restored.