Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Cookbook

Download PDF
Copy Link

Removing a user

When a user account is no longer in use, you should delete it. If any configuration objects, such as a user group, reference the user account, you must remove the references before deleting the user.

To remove references to a user:
  1. Go to User & Device > User Definition.
  2. If the value in the Ref. column is not 0, click it.
  3. FortiOS displays a list of object references to the user. Use this information to remove these references.
To remove a user using the GUI:
  1. Go to User & Device > User Definition.
  2. Select the desired user.
  3. Click Delete, then OK.
To remove a user using the CLI:

config user local

delete exampleuser

end

Removing a user

When a user account is no longer in use, you should delete it. If any configuration objects, such as a user group, reference the user account, you must remove the references before deleting the user.

To remove references to a user:
  1. Go to User & Device > User Definition.
  2. If the value in the Ref. column is not 0, click it.
  3. FortiOS displays a list of object references to the user. Use this information to remove these references.
To remove a user using the GUI:
  1. Go to User & Device > User Definition.
  2. Select the desired user.
  3. Click Delete, then OK.
To remove a user using the CLI:

config user local

delete exampleuser

end