Version:


Table of Contents

Admin Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Multi-realm Mode

FortiToken Cloud comes with a default realm. By enabling Multi-realm Mode, the global admin can create custom realms and associate them with auth clients to better allocate and manage auth clients and end-users.

By design, Multi-realm Mode is enabled for new FTC customers, but disabled for customers who started their FTC service before the FOS 6.2.3 release. When Multi-realm Mode is disabled, new auth clients are assigned to the default realm; when multi-realm mode is enabled, new auth clients registered in FTC are automatically assigned to a new realm.

While there is no need for new customers to enable Multi-realm Mode, existing customers must enable it to take advantage of its benefits. When Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you can create custom realms and assign auth clients to them. You must assign an auth client to a custom realm to add users to and sync users from it. Otherwise, it will be assigned to the default realm where you cannot assign users to or sync users from it.

Caution

Even if your auth clients support the "pre-generated auth clients" feature and Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you cannot add users to or sync users from pre-generated auth clients until/unless the global admin has associated them with a realm.

Enable Multi-realm Mode

If Multi-realm Mode is disabled in your FTC global settings, you can enable it by taking the following steps:

  1. On the side menu, click Settings>Global to open the Global page.
  2. Click the Multi-realm Mode button to enable it.
  3. In the Multi-realm Mode dialog, read the messages and click OK to proceed.
  4. Click Apply Changes.
  5. Click Confirm.

Disable Multi-realm Mode

While Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you can click the Multi-realm Mode button to disable it. For more information on realms, see Realms.

Multi-realm Mode

FortiToken Cloud comes with a default realm. By enabling Multi-realm Mode, the global admin can create custom realms and associate them with auth clients to better allocate and manage auth clients and end-users.

By design, Multi-realm Mode is enabled for new FTC customers, but disabled for customers who started their FTC service before the FOS 6.2.3 release. When Multi-realm Mode is disabled, new auth clients are assigned to the default realm; when multi-realm mode is enabled, new auth clients registered in FTC are automatically assigned to a new realm.

While there is no need for new customers to enable Multi-realm Mode, existing customers must enable it to take advantage of its benefits. When Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you can create custom realms and assign auth clients to them. You must assign an auth client to a custom realm to add users to and sync users from it. Otherwise, it will be assigned to the default realm where you cannot assign users to or sync users from it.

Caution

Even if your auth clients support the "pre-generated auth clients" feature and Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you cannot add users to or sync users from pre-generated auth clients until/unless the global admin has associated them with a realm.

Enable Multi-realm Mode

If Multi-realm Mode is disabled in your FTC global settings, you can enable it by taking the following steps:

  1. On the side menu, click Settings>Global to open the Global page.
  2. Click the Multi-realm Mode button to enable it.
  3. In the Multi-realm Mode dialog, read the messages and click OK to proceed.
  4. Click Apply Changes.
  5. Click Confirm.

Disable Multi-realm Mode

While Multi-realm Mode is enabled, you can click the Multi-realm Mode button to disable it. For more information on realms, see Realms.