Version:


Table of Contents

Admin Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Auto-create Auth Client

Note

This feature applies to FortiGate/FortiOS VDOMs only.

Normally, the FortiGate administrator can add a VDOM to FTC as an auth client by enabling the first user on the VDOM for FTC (if the VDOM has not already been assigned to a realm).  So when FTC receives a VDOM list from FortiOS with a new VDOM with a user enabled for FTC service, it automatically adds that VDOM as an auth client.  This may inadvertently allow unintended auth clients to consume your FTC quotas or credits. To prevent this from happening, FTC has introduced the Auto-create Auth Client option to make the "add-auth-client-on-creation-of-first-user" feature optional in its global settings.

Disable Auto-create Auth Client

By default, Auto-create Auth Client is enabled, but you can disable it using the following procedures:

  1. On the main menu, click Settings>Global to open the Global page.
  2. On the Global page, click the Auto-create Auth Client button to turn it off.
  3. In the Auto-create Auth Client dialog, read the messages and click OK to proceed.
  4. Click Apply Changes.
  5. Click Confirm.

Enable Auto-create Auth Client

If Auto-create Auth Client is disabled, you can enable it by clicking the Auto-create Auth Client button.

Auto-create Auth Client

Note

This feature applies to FortiGate/FortiOS VDOMs only.

Normally, the FortiGate administrator can add a VDOM to FTC as an auth client by enabling the first user on the VDOM for FTC (if the VDOM has not already been assigned to a realm).  So when FTC receives a VDOM list from FortiOS with a new VDOM with a user enabled for FTC service, it automatically adds that VDOM as an auth client.  This may inadvertently allow unintended auth clients to consume your FTC quotas or credits. To prevent this from happening, FTC has introduced the Auto-create Auth Client option to make the "add-auth-client-on-creation-of-first-user" feature optional in its global settings.

Disable Auto-create Auth Client

By default, Auto-create Auth Client is enabled, but you can disable it using the following procedures:

  1. On the main menu, click Settings>Global to open the Global page.
  2. On the Global page, click the Auto-create Auth Client button to turn it off.
  3. In the Auto-create Auth Client dialog, read the messages and click OK to proceed.
  4. Click Apply Changes.
  5. Click Confirm.

Enable Auto-create Auth Client

If Auto-create Auth Client is disabled, you can enable it by clicking the Auto-create Auth Client button.