Version:


Table of Contents

Admin Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Local vs. global disable/delete

FOS distinguishes between local and global disable/delete operations for FTC-enabled FGT users.

While a local delete operation removes the user from an FGT VDOM without affecting the user in FTC, a global delete operation removes the user in both FGT and FTC.

When you disable an FTC-enabled user locally in an FGT VDOM, the user remains unchanged in FTC; when you disable an FTC-enabled user globally in FGT, you remove the user from FTC.

The table below highlights the differences between local and global disable/delete operations.

FortiGate Operation

Disable

Enable

Delete Locally

Delete Global

User in FortiGate

Enabled->Disabled

Disabled->Enabled

Deleted

Deleted

User in FTC

Unchanged

Unchanged

Unchanged

Deleted

Since a local delete-user operation in FGT removes a user only from a specific FGT VDOM but leaves it intact in FTC, FOS warns the VDOM admin that the local delete operation does not remove the user in FTC and, therefore, usage will still be counted as long as the user remains in FTC.

Local vs. global disable/delete

FOS distinguishes between local and global disable/delete operations for FTC-enabled FGT users.

While a local delete operation removes the user from an FGT VDOM without affecting the user in FTC, a global delete operation removes the user in both FGT and FTC.

When you disable an FTC-enabled user locally in an FGT VDOM, the user remains unchanged in FTC; when you disable an FTC-enabled user globally in FGT, you remove the user from FTC.

The table below highlights the differences between local and global disable/delete operations.

FortiGate Operation

Disable

Enable

Delete Locally

Delete Global

User in FortiGate

Enabled->Disabled

Disabled->Enabled

Deleted

Deleted

User in FTC

Unchanged

Unchanged

Unchanged

Deleted

Since a local delete-user operation in FGT removes a user only from a specific FGT VDOM but leaves it intact in FTC, FOS warns the VDOM admin that the local delete operation does not remove the user in FTC and, therefore, usage will still be counted as long as the user remains in FTC.