Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Backup or restore the system configuration

It is recommended that you create a system backup file as part of your maintenance plan. Always perform a backup before upgrading firmware or making major system configuration changes. Save these configuration backups to your management computer in the event that you need to restore the system after a network event.

The FortiSandbox configuration file is in binary format and manual editing is not supported.

To backup the FortiSandbox configuration to your local management computer:
  1. Go to Dashboard > System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Click Click here to save your backup file to your management computer.
To backup the FortiSandbox configuration to a remote server:
  1. Go to Dashboard >System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Under Remote Backup, configure the following settings:

    Server Type

    SCP server type is selected by default.

    Server Address

    Enter the server IP address.

    File Path

    Enter the file path.

    Username

    Enter the username to log in to the remote server.

    Password

    Enter the password to log in to the remote server.

    Backup Schedule

    Set the back up frequency.

  4. Click Set Remote Backup to save your settings.
To restore the FortiSandbox configuration:
  1. Go to Dashboard >System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Click Browse..., locate the backup file on your management computer, then select Restore to load the backup file.
  4. Select OK in the confirmation dialog box. Once the configuration restore process is completed, you will be redirected to the log in page.

By performing a system restore, all of your current configurations will be replaced with the backup data. When users select Restore Administrators, Admin Profiles, Certificates, LDAP Servers and Radius Servers, all of this information will be overridden; otherwise, current settings are kept. The system will reboot automatically to complete the restore operation. Only backup configurations from the previous or same release are supported.

Caution

When you restore a backup configuration from to a unit in Cluster mode, the network configuration and HA cluster related configuration are not restored. The unit will be in Standalone mode. You will need to configure the network settings and add the unit back to Cluster.

Backup or restore the system configuration

It is recommended that you create a system backup file as part of your maintenance plan. Always perform a backup before upgrading firmware or making major system configuration changes. Save these configuration backups to your management computer in the event that you need to restore the system after a network event.

The FortiSandbox configuration file is in binary format and manual editing is not supported.

To backup the FortiSandbox configuration to your local management computer:
  1. Go to Dashboard > System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Click Click here to save your backup file to your management computer.
To backup the FortiSandbox configuration to a remote server:
  1. Go to Dashboard >System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Under Remote Backup, configure the following settings:

    Server Type

    SCP server type is selected by default.

    Server Address

    Enter the server IP address.

    File Path

    Enter the file path.

    Username

    Enter the username to log in to the remote server.

    Password

    Enter the password to log in to the remote server.

    Backup Schedule

    Set the back up frequency.

  4. Click Set Remote Backup to save your settings.
To restore the FortiSandbox configuration:
  1. Go to Dashboard >System Information widget > System Configuration.
  2. Select Backup/Restore.
  3. Click Browse..., locate the backup file on your management computer, then select Restore to load the backup file.
  4. Select OK in the confirmation dialog box. Once the configuration restore process is completed, you will be redirected to the log in page.

By performing a system restore, all of your current configurations will be replaced with the backup data. When users select Restore Administrators, Admin Profiles, Certificates, LDAP Servers and Radius Servers, all of this information will be overridden; otherwise, current settings are kept. The system will reboot automatically to complete the restore operation. Only backup configurations from the previous or same release are supported.

Caution

When you restore a backup configuration from to a unit in Cluster mode, the network configuration and HA cluster related configuration are not restored. The unit will be in Standalone mode. You will need to configure the network settings and add the unit back to Cluster.