Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Modify or delete roles

You can modify the role settings as needed. All devices, users and hosts in the database are required to have a role. You cannot remove a role from these elements. You can only change the role to something else. If no role is specified devices, users and hosts default to the NAC Default role.

If a role is in use by a Device Profiling Rule, guest template, or assigned to a Host, User, or Device, the role cannot be removed from the database. If a role is simply mapped to a device based on the device's membership in a group and not assigned specifically to the device, the role can be removed.

  1. Select Policy > Roles.
  2. Select the role from the list.
  3. To remove the role from the database, click Delete.
  4. On the confirmation window, click Yes to remove the role.
  5. If the role is in use, a warning message is displayed and the role is not deleted. Click In Use for a complete list of places where this role is referenced.
  6. To modify the role, click Modify .
  7. Modify settings as needed and click OK to save.

Modify or delete roles

You can modify the role settings as needed. All devices, users and hosts in the database are required to have a role. You cannot remove a role from these elements. You can only change the role to something else. If no role is specified devices, users and hosts default to the NAC Default role.

If a role is in use by a Device Profiling Rule, guest template, or assigned to a Host, User, or Device, the role cannot be removed from the database. If a role is simply mapped to a device based on the device's membership in a group and not assigned specifically to the device, the role can be removed.

  1. Select Policy > Roles.
  2. Select the role from the list.
  3. To remove the role from the database, click Delete.
  4. On the confirmation window, click Yes to remove the role.
  5. If the role is in use, a warning message is displayed and the role is not deleted. Click In Use for a complete list of places where this role is referenced.
  6. To modify the role, click Modify .
  7. Modify settings as needed and click OK to save.