Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Set user expiration date

The expiration date on a user determines when the user record is automatically deleted or aged out of the database. Administrators default to No Expiration. See Aging out host or user records for information on other methods.

The user inactivity timer is started when all hosts registered to a user are seen as offline. When a host is seen as connected, the timer is cleared. The timer is also cleared when the user logs into FortiNAC.

Administrators assigned the System Administrator profile cannot be aged out.

The Set User Expiration Date feature can be accessed either from the user view or the Host View.

  1. Select Users > User View.
  2. Use the Quick Search or Custom Filter to locate the appropriate user(s).
  3. Select the users to be modified.
  4. Right-click or click Options and select Set User Expiration.
  5. Use the table below to enter expiration criteria.
  6. Click OK to set the expiration dates.
Settings

Field

Definition

Specify Date

Allows you to select a specific date that the user will be aged out of the database.

Days Valid From Now

Enter the number of days from today that you would like the user to expire. The expiration date is calculated based on this number.

Days Valid From
Creation

This is the number of days from the date the user record was created. The expiration date is calculated based on this number.

No Expiration

This user is never deleted from the database even if global or group aging options are added or modified.

Default Expiration

Defaults to the global aging settings configured in System > Settings > User/Host Management > Aging.

Set User Inactivity Limit

Enables the option to delete a user based on the number of days that the user did not log onto the network or into the admin UI.

Days Inactive

Number of consecutive days the user must be inactive to be aged out of the database. For example, if this is set to 4 days, and after 2 days the user connects to the network again, the counter is restarted.

No Inactivity Limit

With this option enabled, the user is never deleted from the database due to inactivity even if global or group aging options are added or modified.

Default Inactivity Limit

Defaults to the global aging settings configured in System > Settings > User/Host Management > Aging.

Delete Registered Hosts

If enabled, hosts registered to the selected user are deleted when the user ages out of the database. It is recommended that you delete hosts with the user or they become registered devices when the user ages out of the database.

Set user expiration date

The expiration date on a user determines when the user record is automatically deleted or aged out of the database. Administrators default to No Expiration. See Aging out host or user records for information on other methods.

The user inactivity timer is started when all hosts registered to a user are seen as offline. When a host is seen as connected, the timer is cleared. The timer is also cleared when the user logs into FortiNAC.

Administrators assigned the System Administrator profile cannot be aged out.

The Set User Expiration Date feature can be accessed either from the user view or the Host View.

  1. Select Users > User View.
  2. Use the Quick Search or Custom Filter to locate the appropriate user(s).
  3. Select the users to be modified.
  4. Right-click or click Options and select Set User Expiration.
  5. Use the table below to enter expiration criteria.
  6. Click OK to set the expiration dates.
Settings

Field

Definition

Specify Date

Allows you to select a specific date that the user will be aged out of the database.

Days Valid From Now

Enter the number of days from today that you would like the user to expire. The expiration date is calculated based on this number.

Days Valid From
Creation

This is the number of days from the date the user record was created. The expiration date is calculated based on this number.

No Expiration

This user is never deleted from the database even if global or group aging options are added or modified.

Default Expiration

Defaults to the global aging settings configured in System > Settings > User/Host Management > Aging.

Set User Inactivity Limit

Enables the option to delete a user based on the number of days that the user did not log onto the network or into the admin UI.

Days Inactive

Number of consecutive days the user must be inactive to be aged out of the database. For example, if this is set to 4 days, and after 2 days the user connects to the network again, the counter is restarted.

No Inactivity Limit

With this option enabled, the user is never deleted from the database due to inactivity even if global or group aging options are added or modified.

Default Inactivity Limit

Defaults to the global aging settings configured in System > Settings > User/Host Management > Aging.

Delete Registered Hosts

If enabled, hosts registered to the selected user are deleted when the user ages out of the database. It is recommended that you delete hosts with the user or they become registered devices when the user ages out of the database.