Fortinet black logo

Administration Guide

Restoring the configuration

Restoring the configuration

You can use the following procedure to restore your FortiManager configuration from a backup file on your management computer.

If your FortiManager unit is in HA mode, switch to Standalone mode.

If your FortiManager has management extensions enabled, the configuration for the enabled management extension is restored too.

The restore operation will temporarily disable the communication channel between FortiManager and all managed devices. This is a safety measure, in case any devices are being managed by another FortiManager. To re-enable the communication, please go to System Settings > Advanced > Advanced Settings and disable Offline Mode.

To restore the FortiManager configuration:
  1. Go to Dashboard.
  2. In the System Information widget, click the restore button next to System Configuration. The Restore System dialog box opens.
  3. Configure the following settings then select OK.

    Choose Backup File

    Select Browse to find the configuration backup file you want to restore, or drag and drop the file onto the dialog box.

    Password

    Type the encryption password.

    Overwrite current IP, routing and HA settings

    Select the checkbox to overwrite the current IP, routing, and HA settings.

    Restore in Offline Mode

    Informational checkbox. Hover over the help icon for more information.

    Migrate from a different platform

    Enable this option to migrate the uploaded database from a different version or platform. See Migrating the configuration.

    • When this option is disabled, the default operation of FortiManager is to restore the database based on the uploaded file.
    • When the option is enabled, the FortiManager migrates the database of the uploaded file.

Restoring the configuration

You can use the following procedure to restore your FortiManager configuration from a backup file on your management computer.

If your FortiManager unit is in HA mode, switch to Standalone mode.

If your FortiManager has management extensions enabled, the configuration for the enabled management extension is restored too.

The restore operation will temporarily disable the communication channel between FortiManager and all managed devices. This is a safety measure, in case any devices are being managed by another FortiManager. To re-enable the communication, please go to System Settings > Advanced > Advanced Settings and disable Offline Mode.

To restore the FortiManager configuration:
  1. Go to Dashboard.
  2. In the System Information widget, click the restore button next to System Configuration. The Restore System dialog box opens.
  3. Configure the following settings then select OK.

    Choose Backup File

    Select Browse to find the configuration backup file you want to restore, or drag and drop the file onto the dialog box.

    Password

    Type the encryption password.

    Overwrite current IP, routing and HA settings

    Select the checkbox to overwrite the current IP, routing, and HA settings.

    Restore in Offline Mode

    Informational checkbox. Hover over the help icon for more information.

    Migrate from a different platform

    Enable this option to migrate the uploaded database from a different version or platform. See Migrating the configuration.

    • When this option is disabled, the default operation of FortiManager is to restore the database based on the uploaded file.
    • When the option is enabled, the FortiManager migrates the database of the uploaded file.