Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Workflow mode

Workflow mode is used to control the creation, configuration, and installation of policies and objects. It helps to ensure all changes are reviewed and approved before they are applied.

When workflow mode is enabled, the ADOM must be locked and a session must be started before policy or object changes can be made in an ADOM. Workflow approvals must be configured for an ADOM before any sessions can be started in it.

Once the required changes have been made, the session can either be discarded and the changes deleted, or it can be submitted for approval. The session can also be saved and continued later, but no new sessions can be created until the saved session has been submitted or discarded.

When a session is submitted for approval, email messages are sent to the approvers, who can then approve or reject the changes directly from the email message. Sessions can also be approved or rejected by the approvers from within the ADOM itself.

Sessions must be approved in the order they were created.

If one approver from each approval group approves the changes, then another email message is sent, and the changes are implemented. If any of the approvers reject the changes, then the session can be repaired and resubmitted as a new session, or discarded. When a session is discarded, all later sessions are also discarded. After multiple sessions have been approved, a previous session can be reverted to, undoing all the later sessions.

The changes made in a session can be viewed at any time from the session list in the ADOM by selecting View Diff. The ADOM does not have to be locked to view the differences.

Workflow mode

Workflow mode is used to control the creation, configuration, and installation of policies and objects. It helps to ensure all changes are reviewed and approved before they are applied.

When workflow mode is enabled, the ADOM must be locked and a session must be started before policy or object changes can be made in an ADOM. Workflow approvals must be configured for an ADOM before any sessions can be started in it.

Once the required changes have been made, the session can either be discarded and the changes deleted, or it can be submitted for approval. The session can also be saved and continued later, but no new sessions can be created until the saved session has been submitted or discarded.

When a session is submitted for approval, email messages are sent to the approvers, who can then approve or reject the changes directly from the email message. Sessions can also be approved or rejected by the approvers from within the ADOM itself.

Sessions must be approved in the order they were created.

If one approver from each approval group approves the changes, then another email message is sent, and the changes are implemented. If any of the approvers reject the changes, then the session can be repaired and resubmitted as a new session, or discarded. When a session is discarded, all later sessions are also discarded. After multiple sessions have been approved, a previous session can be reverted to, undoing all the later sessions.

The changes made in a session can be viewed at any time from the session list in the ADOM by selecting View Diff. The ADOM does not have to be locked to view the differences.