Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Download PDF
Copy Link

Using configuration save mode

Administrators can use configuration save, or workspace, mode to implement strict change control by requiring changes to be manually committed to the flash. To configure the setting in the GUI, go to System > Settings.

When Configuration save mode is set to Automatic (default), configuration changes are automatically saved to both memory and flash.

When Configuration save mode is set to Workspace, configuration changes are saved to memory but not flash. The changes take effect immediately, but must be manually saved to flash. Unsaved changes are reverted when the device is rebooted. If Revert upon timeout is enabled, the device automatically reboots after the configured timeout and reverts the changes back to the previous save point. Prior to rebooting, a pop-up warning gives you the option to postpone the reboot by 1 minute, reboot immediately, or save the configuration changes.

In workspace mode, a warning is shown in the banner when there are unsaved changes. Click the warning to save, view, or revert the changes. Reverting the changes requires rebooting the device.

Clicking View Unsaved Changes opens a pane highlighting the changes that have not been committed.

This feature is also available in the CLI:

config system global
    set cfg-save {automatic | manual | revert}
    set cfg-revert-timeout <integer>
end
# execute cfg {reload | save}

Using configuration save mode

Administrators can use configuration save, or workspace, mode to implement strict change control by requiring changes to be manually committed to the flash. To configure the setting in the GUI, go to System > Settings.

When Configuration save mode is set to Automatic (default), configuration changes are automatically saved to both memory and flash.

When Configuration save mode is set to Workspace, configuration changes are saved to memory but not flash. The changes take effect immediately, but must be manually saved to flash. Unsaved changes are reverted when the device is rebooted. If Revert upon timeout is enabled, the device automatically reboots after the configured timeout and reverts the changes back to the previous save point. Prior to rebooting, a pop-up warning gives you the option to postpone the reboot by 1 minute, reboot immediately, or save the configuration changes.

In workspace mode, a warning is shown in the banner when there are unsaved changes. Click the warning to save, view, or revert the changes. Reverting the changes requires rebooting the device.

Clicking View Unsaved Changes opens a pane highlighting the changes that have not been committed.

This feature is also available in the CLI:

config system global
    set cfg-save {automatic | manual | revert}
    set cfg-revert-timeout <integer>
end
# execute cfg {reload | save}