Configuration backups

Once you successfully configure the FortiGate, it is extremely important that you backup the configuration. In some cases, you may need to reset the FortiGate to factory defaults or perform a TFTP upload of the firmware, which will erase the existing configuration. In these instances, the configuration on the device will have to be recreated, unless a backup can be used to restore it. You should also backup the local certificates, as the unique SSL inspection CA and server certificates that are generated by your FortiGate by default are not saved in a system backup.

We also recommend that you backup the configuration after any changes are made, to ensure you have the most current configuration available. Also, backup the configuration before any upgrades of the FortiGate’s firmware. Should anything happen to the configuration during the upgrade, you can easily restore the saved configuration.

Always backup the configuration and store it on the management computer or off-site. You have the option to save the configuration file to various locations including the local PC, USB key, FTP, and TFTP server. FTP and TFTP are only configurable through the CLI.

If you have VDOMs, you can back up the configuration of the entire FortiGate or only a specific VDOM. Note that if you are using FortiManager or FortiGate Cloud, full backups are performed and the option to backup individual VDOMs will not appear.