Fortinet Document Library

Version:


Table of Contents

21.2.0
Download PDF
Copy Link

Backup

In Backup, you can back up, Edit, View, Compare (to other revisions), Download, Restore (to device), and Delete revisions. You can filter the revision list by firmware version or created time. You can also search for a specific backup.

Note

You cannot restore backups for FortiGates that are running FortiOS 6.2 and FortiGates with VDOMs enabled.

To back up the device configuration to the cloud:
  1. Go to Management > Backup.
  2. Select Backup Config in the upper right, and enter the backup revision name. FortiGate Cloud adds the new configuration to the list. By selecting the icons on the right side, you can rename, view, compare, download, restore, and delete configuration files. The compare icon only appears once you have multiple revisions available.
To enable auto backup:
  1. Go to Management > Backup > Auto Backup Setting.
  2. Click Enable Auto Backup. Only setting changes on the FortiGate (locally from the FortiGate or from FortiGate Cloud) trigger auto backup. You can select one of the following auto back up settings:

    Option

    Description

    Per Session

    By default, the session duration is 600 seconds. For example, if you modify FortiGate settings at 10:00 AM, FortiGate Cloud schedules an auto backup in 600 seconds. If no other setting changes occur within the 600 seconds, FortiGate Cloud performs an auto backup at 10:10 AM. However, if you further modify settings, for example, at 10:05 AM, this resets the timer and FortiGate Cloud schedules an auto backup for 600 seconds after 10:05 AM.

    FortiGate Cloud keeps every backup revision for all sessions in one day.

    Daily

    Automatically backup the configuration once per day. You can also configure the auto backup to only occur if the configuration has changed.

    Weekly

    Automatically backup the configuration once per week. You can also configure the auto backup to only occur if the configuration has changed.

    Send Email To

    Configure an email address to send a notification to when the backup occurs. The email does not contain a copy of the backup revision.

  3. Click Apply.

Backup

In Backup, you can back up, Edit, View, Compare (to other revisions), Download, Restore (to device), and Delete revisions. You can filter the revision list by firmware version or created time. You can also search for a specific backup.

Note

You cannot restore backups for FortiGates that are running FortiOS 6.2 and FortiGates with VDOMs enabled.

To back up the device configuration to the cloud:
  1. Go to Management > Backup.
  2. Select Backup Config in the upper right, and enter the backup revision name. FortiGate Cloud adds the new configuration to the list. By selecting the icons on the right side, you can rename, view, compare, download, restore, and delete configuration files. The compare icon only appears once you have multiple revisions available.
To enable auto backup:
  1. Go to Management > Backup > Auto Backup Setting.
  2. Click Enable Auto Backup. Only setting changes on the FortiGate (locally from the FortiGate or from FortiGate Cloud) trigger auto backup. You can select one of the following auto back up settings:

    Option

    Description

    Per Session

    By default, the session duration is 600 seconds. For example, if you modify FortiGate settings at 10:00 AM, FortiGate Cloud schedules an auto backup in 600 seconds. If no other setting changes occur within the 600 seconds, FortiGate Cloud performs an auto backup at 10:10 AM. However, if you further modify settings, for example, at 10:05 AM, this resets the timer and FortiGate Cloud schedules an auto backup for 600 seconds after 10:05 AM.

    FortiGate Cloud keeps every backup revision for all sessions in one day.

    Daily

    Automatically backup the configuration once per day. You can also configure the auto backup to only occur if the configuration has changed.

    Weekly

    Automatically backup the configuration once per week. You can also configure the auto backup to only occur if the configuration has changed.

    Send Email To

    Configure an email address to send a notification to when the backup occurs. The email does not contain a copy of the backup revision.

  3. Click Apply.