Fortinet Document Library

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:

Version:


Table of Contents

Administration Guide

Configuration lock

You can only configure this setting when FortiClient is in standalone mode.

You can prevent unauthorized changes to the FortiClient configuration by locking the configuration. When you lock the configuration, FortiClient restricts configuration changes and cannot be shut down or uninstalled.

When the configuration is locked, you can perform the following actions on the Settings page:

  • Back up the FortiClient configuration
  • Export FortiClient logs

If you want to change the configuration or shut down FortiClient, you must unlock the configuration first.

To lock the configuration:
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the Lock Settings icon in the upper right corner.
  3. In the Password box, type a password. Ensure you remember the password. You will need it to unlock the configuration.
  4. In the Re-enter Password box, retype the password.
  5. Click Lock.
To unlock the configuration:
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the lock icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. In the Password box, type the password used to lock the configuration.
  4. Click Unlock.

Configuration lock

You can only configure this setting when FortiClient is in standalone mode.

You can prevent unauthorized changes to the FortiClient configuration by locking the configuration. When you lock the configuration, FortiClient restricts configuration changes and cannot be shut down or uninstalled.

When the configuration is locked, you can perform the following actions on the Settings page:

  • Back up the FortiClient configuration
  • Export FortiClient logs

If you want to change the configuration or shut down FortiClient, you must unlock the configuration first.

To lock the configuration:
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the Lock Settings icon in the upper right corner.
  3. In the Password box, type a password. Ensure you remember the password. You will need it to unlock the configuration.
  4. In the Re-enter Password box, retype the password.
  5. Click Lock.
To unlock the configuration:
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the lock icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. In the Password box, type the password used to lock the configuration.
  4. Click Unlock.